Let Me Remind You…

Let me remind you…

I do not need a 4.0 GPA to be wise or intelligent.

I do not need to wear a different outfit every day to look my best.

I do not need you to tell me what I should think is right or wrong.

I do not need you to look at me and wonder if I would look better with or without makeup.

I do not need to be the center of attention.

I do not need dozens of friends who tell me what I want to hear.

I do not need you to like me.

I do not need anyone to approve of my past. present, or future.

I do not need people to tiptoe around my life to make sure they don’t step on my toes and hurt my feelings.

 I do not need to acquire all the material objects so someone will change the way they think of me.

I do not need a boy to tell me I’m pretty for me to realize my self-worth.

I do not need money to be happy with my life.

I do not need you to judge my body, appearance, or choices.

I am not perfect.

I will never be perfect.

Let me remind you…

I am human.

I will make mistakes.

I am not everybody’s cup of tea.

Let me remind you…

The more you judge me for what I look like when I’m sitting in a lecture, the stronger I become. I will have mental breakdowns. I will give into society’s ideal’s every now and then. Every time you belittle me because I am only just starting my adult life and you think I’m doing something wrong, the stronger I become. I will cave and want you to like me. I will remind myself that you are stooping to a very low point and I am better than that. Whenever you brag about how easy school is for you and I should just take up your studying tips, the stronger I become. I will concede to your superior knowledge, but I will get back up and remind myself I am not you. I am me. School has always been harder for me so I will push myself to do my best, not to beat you. If you tell me my thoughts, morals, and beliefs are incorrect, I will submit to your thoughts, morals, and beliefs. Then I will realize, I was not put on this world to buckle under pressure.

Let me remind you…

My weakness is my anxiety and depression. My strongest traits are my anxiety and depression. Do not underestimate me. More importantly, do not underestimate yourself. We are stronger and better than our minds lead us to believe. There is more to life than what our minds lead us to believe. We will fall, but we will quietly get back up, steady ourselves, and move on. Every time we fall, the cuts get deeper and take longer to heal, but I promise that you and I will heal over time. We will overcome our anxiety and depression. We will be able to move on from that time that one boy laughed at us when we were sitting in class learning, but he thought we didn’t look pretty enough so he felt it was necessary to call us names. We will conquer our nightmares that never leave us alone. We will not let anyone tell us we are not good enough. We will bury our fear of not being liked because of a mistake we made ten years ago or ten minutes ago. Let me remind you, we are not everybody’s cup of tea.

Let me remind you…

Even if you feel like nothing in your life is going right. You must know that there are people who care, if you don’t think so, I do care. I don’t care if I know you or don’t, I do care. I have been in the place of feeling like nobody cares or understands. Nobody truly understands 100% but we can always work our hardest to help. Let me remind you, we are stronger than our minds.

 

 

 

2 Replies to “Let Me Remind You…”

Leave a Reply

