What it’s like Living with a Cotton Ball for a Puppy

For most of you reading this, you’re familiar with Gus my fifty-pound labradoodle who’s a complete baby. For those of you who don’t know who Gus is, he’s my fifty-pound labradoodle who’s a complete baby.

12120001_10201029325532109_3050372123699306773_o
Gus on the first day we got to bring our baby home!

My family got Gus about a year and a half ago, adding him to the family of seven, that’s including my boyfriend and the other two eight-pound dogs we already had. Panda was about eight years old and Dusty was about five years old so bringing in a puppy, who would grow to be ten times their size, probably wasn’t an ideal situation for them.

First off let me say that having a bigger dog than what my family is used to was quite the transition. There are times that it’s extremely hard to live with him since he does have so much energy and he is so much bigger than the other two dogs.

With that being said, Gus will always be my little baby. No matter how many times he sleeps next to me on my side of the bed and heavily breathes in my face or when he wakes me up by army crawling on the bed and just to lay on top of me to lick my face, that’s my baby. He’s my favorite part about getting to go home after a long day. I’m lucky to have such a cute little bugger in my life… even though he’s not so little anymore.

He’s helped me a lot with my anxiety and with becoming more of a responsible young adult. After we got Gus I realized why my parents weren’t on board with my brother and I getting a puppy for our own. We would’ve never taken care of the puppy and it would’ve wound up being another task for my mom. I realized how big of a responsibility he is, but I believe that because I’ve come to terms with that, I appreciate Gus and my parents more. I’ve come to love having to take time out of my day to be his ‘human’ and take care of him. For my parents, I now sympathize with them for how many times they had to train a puppy (or a kid… yikes!). Now having to do it myself, it’s a lot harder than it seems. Also, they raised a puppy and me when I was a baby so shoutout to my parents because even though Bear isn’t around anymore, I think we turned out pretty great!

It sure will be interesting to see how Gus does when we move out to in a few months. No doubt, it’ll most definitely be an adjustment but for the both of us, but I truly can’t wait to start this new chapter of my life and say it starts with living with a cotton ball for my puppy. *heart emoji*

One Reply to “What it’s like Living with a Cotton Ball for a Puppy”

Leave a Reply

