Day 3 and a Half

The one and the ONLY thing I miss about high school: dance team.

There’s nothing better than being surrounded by a supportive, loving, and kick ass family. While I don’t entirely miss the early morning practices, I do miss my dancers, coach, and being in shape was a plus. To clarify, this isn’t an “I miss not getting to see you guys perform,” because I go back to watch every performance or as many as I can. Instead, it’s an “I miss spending nearly 24 hours with you guys for two years straight.”

It’s hard to believe it’s been nine months since my last performance and probably the last time I was “dance” healthy. Not to say I’m unhealthy now, I’m just saying if I went back to dance team to re-tryout (I wish that was an option), I probably wouldn’t make it back on the team. Unless I could win over my coach with some freestyle to Justin Bieber, anything is possible when you play JB around moi. Like the one time, I nearly cried/died when I found out what the music to our last performance was. For those who saw, it was an interesting time. In case you don’t understand what I’m talking about or you just want to laugh at me again, click here and I’ll hope that I didn’t just embarrass myself further. Anyway, after trying so much to get back into shape and failing these past three months, I’m not letting that happen this time around.  

Yoga and meditation are where I’m starting. It’s day 3 and a half and I can already tell how much healthier, mentally and physically I feel. In the mornings, a quick 10-minute meditation session and if I wake up early enough a 10-minute yoga run through, then a 30 minute to an hour yoga and meditation session right before bed. For example, I went to my 9 AM class yesterday after doing a quick meditation sesh and I DIDN’T FALL ASLEEP IN CLASS (Mom, if you’re reading this, I’ve never ever fallen asleep in class. I always pay attention and give my undivided attention 110% of the time to whatever is going on in class! I love you!).

The addition to going to the gym and taking Gus on a daily walk is in progress, I just have to get a set schedule to the gym since this week it was not at all expected and Gus sure does give me a workout while I try not to be dragged along the whole walk.

I can’t tell you how long I’ve been waiting to feel this good. I’ve found myself starting to cut toxic people out of my life or not paying attention to them on social media. There’s an unfollow button for a reason, so why not put it to good use. I’ve also found that I’m now watching myself on almost every level imaginable, how I treat people, how I eat, how to treat myself, and how I impact others so I better make it as positive as I can. I feel good and I can’t wait to feel good about my body, not because I want to be skinnier and more attractive. Simply because I remember how good I felt during my dance team days and that is a goal I intend to live up to again.

So overall, thank you to my teammates and my coach (SP Drizzle *jazz hands*), for making my experience one that I will never forget, not even when I have Alzheimer’s because of my one too many concussions. The only reason I got through high school was because I had a sport that required me to keep my grades up and a team that I got to make so many amazing memories with, which pushed me to do my best. When you can find your sport, the one that makes you want to be your absolute best, it does carry over to your daily life even if it’s nine months after your last performance and all you want is to get back into shape. Having that love and all those memories, you keep that mindset and once you apply that elsewhere, you could do almost anything.

Side Note: Not to brag or anything, but when you win second place at your own home competition your senior year AND you’re only seven points behind one of the best dance teams on your side of the state, I don’t think you could ask for a better way to end your high school career.

dance.jpg
I think it’s safe to say that we all cried that day.
Leave a Reply

