Dear Mom & Dad

Dear Mom & Dad,

Thank you for meeting each other at work when you guys were 19. Thank you for sticking with each other through thick and thin. Thank you for struggling and giving up the young party teenage life to be with each other. Thank you for learning how to grow up quicker than most young couples.

Thank you, Mom, for wrapping me up in ten layers when I got to experience my first snow day. Thank you for playing multiplication M&M’s with me and helping me with my polar bear science project. Thank you for making me write essays when I got in trouble. I guess you must have known I was destined to be a writer when you thought of that as a punishment.

Thank you, Dad, for taking me to Meconi’s because that was our favorite place to go out to eat. Thank you for teaching me how to ride a bike so you could try to get me to go mountain biking with you later on in life. Sorry, I never really liked mountain biking as much as we hoped.

Thank you, both for giving me the best little brother ever. Thank you for relocating the family to Spokane where I met my lifelong best friend. Thank you for supporting me throughout my hip surgeries and through my choice of leaving behind a sport you guys invested so much time, energy, and money into, to take on a completely new sport.

Thanks for falling in love with each other and sticking with each other even when things were tough. Thank you for deciding you guys wanted to spend the rest of your lives together, through better or for worse. Because of you two, I will always have best friends for parents and role models for what I want in a relationship when I grow up.

I want to say thank you for everything you guys have done for this family to give Andrew and I the best childhood and adulthood, or whatever you want to call the stages of life we’re in right now. You’ve given us more than we deserve and we are beyond blessed to have you two as parents.

Thank you. I love you more.

Leave a Reply

