Big sis, lil bro

img_2984 This post is about the infamous little brother I was blessed with. When I was five years old I got a Christmas present a few weeks early with this little gem. There was a complication because nothing can ever truly be perfect. Andrew was born with a hole in one of the chambers of his heart. The doctors never caught it, but thankfully my grandma did. At age four, my little baby brother went through heart surgery like a stud. So for that, I consider him to literally be my little miracle man.

My mom raised the two of us to get along. She didn’t take the “siblings are supposed to fight, that’s what they do,” bullshit. She constantly reminded Andrew and me how we’re stuck with each other for the rest of our lives, so we might as well make the best of it and just get along. So that’s exactly what we did and what we still do. It’s hard to believe that siblings could not argue and fight, but Andrew and I happen to just fight over who gets the last of the fruit snacks. I can’t say that there’s never a time where we don’t want to be around each other, but luckily that only happens every once in a while, usually whenever one of us is in a “mood.”

I like to brag about how amazing my brother is because he’s taught me what it’s like to love another person so much that you would in a heartbeat do anything and everything for them. He taught me how to be patient with someone who’s still learning how to go about life, and he showed me that I still have a lot to learn. Thanks to him I will always have a partner in crime and a best friend.

Andrew is in his tween years now which is really odd for me because I remember my tween years like they were only 5 years ago; I find it interesting how different he is compared to me in the tween years. He’s the most social butterfly I’ve ever met. He’s the smartest, wittiest, and most caring teenage boy, he puts his everything into the family and he loves making us laugh. I might be a little bias, but even looking at Andrew compared to his friends, he’s just got a little extra to him that makes him stand out.

Andrew loves basketball, biking, scootering (scooting?), shoes, drums, Kobe Bryant, Stephen Curry, Subaru’s, and gangsta music (as dad would say, word). I love watching him grow

12088279_10201049729162187_4748730879946159501_n
I swear he loves me!

up, even though I wish he would stay my little baby, that I could push around in my baby doll stroller, forever. I am so proud of the young man he has become and is still becoming. I can’t wait to continue to watch him accomplish great things, just from a shorter standpoint.

 

 

One Reply to “Big sis, lil bro”

Leave a Reply

